Profile

Schedule

  • Period 1 - Biology

    Period 2 - Physics I

    Period 3 - Planning/ Professional Development

    Period 4 - Biology

    Period 5 - Planning/ Professional Development

    Period 6 - Physics I

    Period 7 - Physics I

  • Welcome! 

    I hope you're as excited about science as I am!  As we all know, most everyone has to do some job or another in life.  I feel blessed & excited to come to work every day to help Hellgate Science Students maximize their potential as young scientists!  I believe all of us have the ability in life to go far beyond our own expectations of ourselves.  My goal as a science teacher is to help students learn things they never thought they could learn, do things they never thought they could do, and hopefully discover that science is something they will want to continue to learn about for the rest of their lives.  I believe there are no limits to what you can achieve if you approach things with passion and commitment. 
     
    I was born & raised in Ohio.  My original degree was a Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering from Ohio Northern University.  I am also a Professional Engineer (PE).  I worked for nine years as an engineer traveling the world working on projects in Japan (1 year), as well as jobs in France, Germany and all over the USA.  I totally enjoyed my work as an engineer which gave me invaluable experience in solving problems in science & engineering.  But, due to burnout and the desire to teach & coach, I decided to go back to school to major in Biology (@ University of Colorado, Boulder), and become certified to teach.  I have been enjoying teaching ever since! 
     
    I taught for 10 years at Douglas County HS in Castle Rock, CO.  I am now in my 11th year at Hellgate HS.  Along the way I earned a Masters of Education from the University of Toledo and Broadfield Science Certification through University of Montana. 
     
    I am super lucky to be married to my wife Jo.  Jo grew up in Newcastle, England.  Jo teaches Math at Willard HS.  We have two children, Grace (12 years old, in 7th grade at Washington Middle School) and Liam (8 years old, in 3rd grade at Rattlesnake Elem.).  As an aside, my father is a retired teacher, and my sister is a HS French Teacher. 
     
    When I'm not teaching or playing with Grace & Liam, we enjoy hiking, camping, and kayaking.  I also enjoy getting out on the mountain bike, tinkering with my Volkswagen, and playing electric guitar.