• Kootenai/
    Ktunaxa (Ksanka)

    Pend d’ Oreille/
    Qaeisp ‘e


    The Flathead Indian Reservation is home to three tribes, the Bitterroot Salish, Upper Pend d’Oreille, and the Kootenai. “Confederated Salish” refers to both the Salish and Pend d’Oreille tribes. The territories of these three tribes covered all of western Montana and extended into parts of Idaho, British Columbia and Wyoming. The Hellgate Treaty of 1855 established the Flathead Reservation, but over half a million acres passed out of Tribal ownership during land allotment that began in 1904.-- from the Confederated Salish and Kootenai Tribal Link.

    The Confederated Salish and Kootenai Tribes Website

    Confederated Salish and Kootenai Tribes

    Salish Kootenai College
    IEFA Resource Hub Home